ca4c

4.17.9 "Ain't No God Like Mine"

In GOSPEL, MINISTRIES on April 17, 2009 at 5:26 pm

Friday, April 17, 2009 4.17.9 “Ain’t No God Like Mine”
“Ain’t No God Like Mine!”

Joshua 15:1-63
Luke 18:18-43
Psalm 86:1-17
Proverbs 13:9-10

As kids there was always a “my dad’s tougher than yours” conversation at some point or another. My dad was a hockey coach, so I had a lot of clout in that area. Of course those conversations are motivated by pride, and not the healthiest thing to get involved in as they usually lead to a fight in some form or another, which proves today’s Proverb true: “Pride leads to conflict…” (Prov.
13:10)

Reading today’s Psalm, we get that “my God’s tougher than yours” feeling. “Where among the heathen gods is there a god like you? Where are their miracles?” (Ps 86:3) What a great line! Where are their miracles? There is no god like our God! He is awesome his power is unending. As much as we’ve experienced, we can only comprehend a portion of his greatness.

Everyone’s going to know it, though. “All the nations – and you made each one – will come and bow before you, Lord, and praise your great and holy name. For you are great, and do great miracles. You alone are God.
” (Ps 86:9-10)

We serve an awesome God! We need to think about that. We need to acknowledge his greatness. We need to respond in worship. How do we worship? With our lives.

“Tell me where you want me to go and I will go there. May every fiber of my being unite in reverence to your name. With all my heart I will praise you. I will give glory to your name forever, for you love me so much! you are constantly so kind! You have rescued me from deepest hell.
” (Ps 86:11-13)

I love that line “May every fiber of my being unite in reverence to your name.” What would our day be like if we lived like that? If every fiber of my being united in reverence to his name, I would obey his commands, I would walk in unity, I would study his Word, I would use the gifts he’s given me for his glory.

I would Live the DREAM!

Today’s reading from Joshua is one that you probably don’t have memorized. It lays out the allotment for the tribe of Judah in the promised land. It lists the boundaries on all sides, and then goes on to list the hundreds of cities & surrounding villages that were conquered, and allotted to them.

Ok, be honest… did you read each name of each city? I caught myself skipping over a few verses because i caught the “gist” of what was going on. As I was doing that, I realized I was skipping over answered prayer. The cities that are listed are the result of the unbelievable trials and miracles that God’s people went through. This was the promise.

It made me stop to think if I’m doing the same thing in my life. Do I skip over the “details” of the great things God has done for me. “yeah, yeah, yeah… my God is better than any other… I got the gist….” That’s not how we should be! We should be listing the great things God has done!

In Luke 18:35-43 the blind man is crying out to Jesus, and Jesus asks him, “‘What do you want me to do for you?’ ‘Lord,’ he said, ‘I want to see!'” Jesus healed him, and verse 43 says, “Instantly the man could see, and he followed Jesus, praising God. And all who saw it praised God, too.

The healing of the blind man is a bit more exciting to us than the list of cities. Yet both are a sign of an awesome God. What do you have to praise God for today? I have health! I have provision.

God is GREAT! There ain’t NO god like mine!

Through the Power of the Spirit,
Live the DREAM!

Tag Team Ministries Reps

Leave a Reply

